Tough guy 

So my night shift nurse came into the room and said, “so you are the tough guy”? At first I was scared that I might be getting a reputation as a bad patient. Apparently the fact that I made five laps around the transplant floor today and I’m reluctant to take pain meds makes me tough. I will take that as a compliment. Although after the laps, I needed pain meds lol!! 

My donor Andi was released this morning and was able to go home to her family. She is so amazing! I know she is still sore and uncomfortable, but she and her husband are always smiles. Plus I could not imagine being away for her two younger  children for three days. Her husband Jeff, text updates and told me she was resting and glad to be home but was sad we could not keep hanging out here at the hospital. I do miss them being right down the hall. Heather and I would stop on my walks. Their Faith has brought me to a new level in spirituality. I will leave you with a quote Jeff sent me. Good night all! 

“The goal of life is not to win. It is to play the game with love. The rules of the game are: have a strong desire to win, believe that you are worthy of winning, have faith that you will win, and, as long as you are alive, never believe that the game is over.” Iyanla Vanzant

3 thoughts on “Tough guy 

Leave a Reply

